Skip to main content

4-Point Inspections

Home » 4-Point Inspection

What is a “4-Point Inspection”?

The “4 Point Inspection” was created after Hurricane Andrew in 1992. The Florida insurance industry uses this inspection to determine if the home has been maintained in an acceptable manner expected by the insurance market. This report is required in all homes 20 years old and older. They do need to be update once every 5 years. The 4 Points that are included within this report are…

  • ROOF
  • HVAC (Heating, Ventilation, & Air Conditioner)

Why Do I Need a 4-Point Inspection?

The 4 Point Inspection is a Florida Insurance Inspection. You will need this inspection at some point if you are living in South Florida cities like Boca Raton, Jupiter, West Palm Beach, Miami, Ft. Lauderdale, and others. For the most part, it will be required on older homes but can be requested as soon as the home turns 5 years old.

For example, if a house has fuses in the electrical panel, the insurance company will require that the fuses be removed and replaced with state-of-the-art circuit breakers. The insurance companies are looking to see that all areas of this inspection are in good working condition and that each item is performing in the manner in which they were intended.

If the homeowner does not comply, the insurance company has the ability to cancel the policy.

Waypoint East Guarantee

“Waypoint guarantees peace of mind when you can’t predict everything that could go wrong after a home inspection. That’s why we have several products to help protect you if something should go wrong in your new home.”

The History of 4-Point Inspections

In 2002, the legislature for the State of Florida passed a law combining two areas of the State Insurance Commission, the FRPCJUA and the FWUA. This combination of these two areas created Citizens Property and Casualty Insurance Company.

Citizens PCIC was the insurer of last resort for homeowners who live in high-risk areas or could not find insurance coverage with an admitted insurance company in Florida. This has made Citizens the largest underwriter of homeowners insurance in Florida.

Who Can Perform a 4-Point Inspection?

A home inspector who holds a certification from InterNachi (International Association of Certified Home Inspectors) can perform Four Point Inspections for Citizens PCIC policy holders. Your Waypoint Inspectors from the Boca Raton area are fully-certified to complete these inspections.

Areas We Serve


Palm Beach County | St. Lucie County | Okeechobee County | Martin County | Broward County | Miami-Dade County